Welcome

IMG_3815

My name is Ellie, and I am a journalism student at the University of Sheffield. Soon to be graduating and setting off in to the ‘real world.’

I got tattoos on my feet to represent my time at university. On my feet: because I learned to stand on my two feet more. The sail boat on the wave: the journey in to the unknown with its ups and downs. The lighthouse: there will always be something to guide you through; my friend died in second year and I wanted a reminder to look for the light in the darkness.

I got these tattoos with this in mind, and nothing more. Definitely not starting a blog based on the picture on my right foot. But when faced with the prospect of leaving university, and the hopes of getting any job I can to save up to go travelling I was faced with blind panic. First, I turned to wine, then to cake, then to chocolate. I got cosy in the world of denial but realised I could do something with my spare time.

So I decided to set up the Little Sail Boat – my boat to mark university journey may as well inspire the next part of my life.

During my time at university, I have been taught how to write, what to write, and marked on it. Don’t get me wrong, it has made me a much better writer. But there were time when I hated writing, and questioned whether or not I even liked it. Going from loving writing my entire life to dreading opening up a word document was terrifying.

So I focused on my university work, rather than writing for fun – slowly I found the want of writing leaking back in to me. I could feel words strolling through my head, fingers itching to write down descriptions, and every so often writing notes on my phone during train rides. I felt reassured, but I didn’t have the time to indulge in it.

But soon I will have the time to write, and be on the next part of the journey. Hopefully there will be a job (I’ll keep you posted on that one) and set sail to exciting places. I know I have destinations lined up for summer at the very least.

Welcome to the Little Sail Boat ­– the journey of a graduate.

3 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Hi Ellie,
    WP suggested your blog to me the other day and I’m lovin’ it! Your writing is beautiful and I can see your passion through every post you’ve published. Confusions and self-doubt are normal, I’m sure you’ll get through it and land the job of your dream. I’ve just nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger award because of the inspiration and positive energy you brought to this blogosphere. You can check out my nomination at: https://bubblytraveler.wordpress.com/2017/02/14/spread-a-little-sunshine/

    Hope to hear from you soon. 🙂;)
    Cheers
    Hue

    • Hi Hue,
      I’m so sorry for my slow reply! Working life has been pretty intense and I haven’t had much time to be on WP.
      Thanks so much for your kinds words, they’ve absolutely made my day.I’ll try and get a blog published as a response to the nomination asap!
      Thanks again.
      Ellie

Leave a Reply

