Home

It’s funny how something so small can make you realise how much has changed.

As I brewed myself a coffee, my thoughts couldn’t help stirring themselves.

A year ago, I truly hated coffee and I associated it with the “grown-up” world, offices and sophistication.

Fast-forward a little over one year later and here I am with a job in an office and -yes -an occasional coffee drinker -but the sophistication I thought came with it is still alluding me. Nonetheless, it’s a strange feeling to feel yourself growing up and entering the next stage of your life.

For the first time in such a long time I find myself full of ideas. This blog, the Huffington Post blog, two ideas for different blogs and let’s not forget good old NaNoWriNo which I’m currently taking part in.

(You try and write 50,000 words in a month. My current word count is just over 30,000 so straight after this post I’m plunging straight in to my word document to try and catch up a little)

When you read it like that, I can’t blame you for thinking: She’s mad. Why on earth is she taking on all of that?

The thing is though, for me, it doesn’t feel like work. It feels like possibilities, When I find myself at work drinking a coffee, filling in reports at the office, it’s nice to know I’ve got things to get excited about. There is work which exists that I actually want to do. This isn’t to say I don’t enjoy my job – if anything I love having the stability of a 9-5 and getting some good experience –  it’s just that I know it’s not what I want to do forever.

I’ve mentioned the fact I’ve had ideas for other blog projects, which – if they come to a head – will be written elsewhere. Either here but  on a different page or perhaps an entirely new set up. My slim knowledge of HTML and CSS will be tested.

For now this little sail boat is safely tucked in the harbour, contemplating the horizons but not yet taking off. It’s got plenty to be getting on with.

Leave a Reply

