Setting Sail

One year of being a graduate, two jobs later and a severely depleted savings account- I can finally say I am going travelling.

Don’t worry, I’m not writing this with the idea of presenting myself as a special snowflake who had the idea to go and see the world after finishing full time education and before settling down to try and act like an adult.

All this really is my late night thoughts and childhood ambitions written down together and me trying to make sense of the two. You’ll have to forgive me if it gets a little cheesy and I’ll apologise in advance for the use of the word adventure here and there.

Maybe we should get the mush over and done with. Ever since I was little, I have dreamt of seeing the world, of going on a big adventure and seeing what’s on this planet. I can still see little Ellie writing in her notebooks, creating characters who kept scrapbooks and postcards of their travels (when they weren’t being a child wizard or a talking dog.)

And this little part of me has only grown over the years.

Whenever I travel, my blood feels like champagne. There is a fizzing excitement and a celebratory feeling rushing through my veins. I have this gnawing ache whenever I see pictures of exotic beaches or extravagant cities I’ve never been to, this desperate feeling of wanting to see everything and panicking over whether I’ll have time to see as much of the world as I can.

Whenever I pictured this adventure, I was always by myself. I never thought to add in friends or family – with surprising grit for a five-year-old -I thought if I ever had the chance to go and see the world, I would do it by myself. Fast forward seventeen years later and that grit remains.

Of course there have been times when I have been absolutely terrified and can’t quite believe I’m going to do it. I try not to dwell too much on all the things that could go wrong; given the time I could write a risk assessment the size of a phone book.

Surprisingly being such a worrier and over thinker has spurred me on to do this. I won’t go in too much detail about my fears but one of them is that we never know how much time we’ve got left on this world. We never know what will happen to us. Without meaning to sound too sombre – I want to see the world while I’m still physically able to.

Moving swiftly past these worries and concentrating on my gut instinct, I know I am doing the right thing for myself. The idea of going travelling myself is so liberating – I can do what I want, when I want, go where I want to go and not have to worry about other people. I can be a little bit selfish but for all the best reasons.

Plus now is the right time to do it, before I start trying to step on the career or property ladder. Very early on in my third year at university I decided rather than look for a graduate job,  I would get any sort of job I could to save up to go travelling, determined to save enough to make it the trip I have always wanted it to be. Moving back home and living with my parents rent free was incredibly helpful for my savings and I cannot thank them enough.

I finally booked my flights and can happily say that I fly to Bangkok on September  16th. I am astounded how close the date is getting. I have visas, travel insurance, and am slowly but surely making my way through my “to do” list but I don’t think I can ever feel ready to go. All I know is how much I want to do this and try to prepare myself.

All being well the next entry will be written in Thailand, which is just crazy exciting to think about. Until then, I best get cracking with my packing list. If you have any tips on what to take or what not take, please share them in the comments below!

Listening to:

Waves – Robin Schulz – Mr Probz

5 thoughts on “Setting Sail

  1. Traveling alone is the absolute best! It’s just what you said – you don’t have to worry about anyone else you can do everything that you want! I traveled alone recently and I feel that if I had been traveling with someone I never would have met the people I met and had the experiences I did. It wasn’t till I was alone that I was completely open and I felt like the Universe patted me on the back and things couldn’t have worked out better. My only advice would be to bring half of the luggage you want to pack and twice as much money (although I was in expensive areas Thailand should be fine). Enjoy Bangkok!! Excited for you XO
    http://sittingprettyinthequeencity.com/

  2. Pingback: Sydney I | The Little Sail Boat

Leave a Reply

