Landing in Laos

“We can’t,” I say.
He doesn’t say anything, just gives me a look.
“I really, really, want to but we can’t.”
For a moment, the urge to give in to temptation is overwhelming.

“We can’t,” I repeat, putting down the chocolate with a sigh. J and I stand in the confectionery section in duty free, mournfully looking at the Dairy Milk. It is six pounds for a single bar.

It has been three weeks since I’ve had chocolate from home and my sweet tooth is not taking this well. Quick side note here: Choco Pies from an Asian corner shop just don’t cut it.

I don’t dwell too long in duty free and find a seat to wait for the flight to be called. We’re in Hanoi airport and from here we’ll be setting off to Vientiane, the capital of Laos.

If you’re currently planning a trip to South East Asia and are thinking of including Laos in your travels, I’d happily advise to opt for this quick flight, rather than the 24 hour bus ride.

We’re in the air for half an hour or so and before I know it, I’m in my fourth country in three weeks, which feels pretty special.

Listening to: Noel Gallagher  ‘If I Had a Gun’

I look out the bus window, watching the city lights and the roads. The traffic is much calmer here than Vietnam. You don’t notice how noisy all those horn blasts can be until they’re not there anymore.

Tomorrow we’ll be spending the morning exploring Vietnane before going on the road again, but for now all I want is sleep. And Dairy Milk but that ain’t happening for a while.

 

Leave a Reply

