The Great Barrier Reef

Lost in the blue has been a thought continually swimming through my head; from the blue sky outside the plane window leaving England, to finishing my time in Australia swimming in the deep blue of the ocean.

I was snorkelling in the Great Barrier Reef, which is a statement I still can’t quite believe I get to make. I have no idea how to describe the place to you; no clue on what words to use to explain what it was like there.

I suppose I could start with the basics: the colours. I was completely surrounded by the blue of the ocean. I looked down and it just kept going. Going. And going, which was both beautiful and terrifying.

P1380063

All these photos were taken by me on a waterproof camera I’d hired for the day

P1380081

I swam past coral, parts had been bleached by the sun but every so often there was a streak of electric blue, a twirl of bottle green or a splash of a mustard yellow. There were darting fish, swimming past in colours that I didn’t know existed. There was the waving anemone, where I tried in vain to find Nemo.

P1380054

P1380132

The only thing that interrupted my tides of wanderlust was constantly swallowing or spitting out salt water due to the waves going over my snorkel, but, as I’m sure you can guess, I didn’t really mind that much.

P1380055

P1380062

For a hysterical second, whilst swimming, I was reminded of a poem I wrote when I was seven for an anthology competition in school. It was called Under the Sea and it was 24 lines long, which consisted of 12 rhyming couplets describing various sea life.

Other childhood memories came flooding back: never wanting to leave the pool at Center Parcs, constantly watching The Little Mermaid and playing Disney exploring games in the swimming pool.

I remembered hearing all about must do’s before you die, discovering the concept of a Bucket List for the first time, and that The Great Barrier was a top pick for a lot of people. I remembered wondering whether I would ever manage to see it for myself. I must have been really young at this point because I was also absolutely desperate to swim with a dolphin.

It’s strange to think I’d forgotten one of my earliest travel ambitions but perhaps I never believed I would make it so I just pushed it from my mind – content to simply splash around in the swimming pool.

I was brought back to my now, kicking through the current. I had actually managed to make it to The Great Barrier Reef. l was by myself, on the other side of the world, at a place I hadn’t dare to dream about, overwhelmingly happy despite swallowing so much salt water and worrying about sharks. I was alone but not lonely. I just kept swimming and let my senses be flooded by such beautiful surroundings. I was content to stay utterly and completely lost in that blue.

P1380145

 

One thought on “The Great Barrier Reef

  1. Pingback: Atherton Tablelands | The Little Sail Boat

Leave a Reply

