Cairns

Forgive me if I’m wrong, but I found there wasn’t a whole lot to do in Cairns itself. The adventures tended to wait outside the city – be it the Great Barrier Reef or the Atherton Tablelands.

I spent my last full day in Cairns looking for the most stereotypical Australian souvenirs I could get my hands on – mainly a boomerang and a bunch of small koala teddies. As well as a fridge magnets for mum because I am not going to break that tradition I’ve had since Brownie camp.

Once that was done, I headed to the waterfront to play diary catch up and watch the pelicans.

 

My head couldn’t quite grasp the concept of everything I had seen and done in the past two months. It was hard to believe this part of my adventure was ending. My time in New Zealand would be so different as I was looking to find work, settle and start saving for more travels.

Instead of looking back on my past, or trying to see in to the future, I looked out at the ocean and just tried to be grateful for the moment now.

* * *

Please note the featured image was not taken by me. I got it from here

 

One thought on “Cairns

  1. Pingback: Cairns | The Little Sail Boat

Leave a Reply

