If you know me, what I’m about to say next will come as no surprise whatsoever. However, if we’ve never met: hello, I’ll tell you a little about myself.

I grew up listening to sixties music: The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, The Doors, The Animals, Jimi Hendrix, The Mamas and the Pappas. I could go on. It set up a firm foundation for a love of music, built on with my entire family having a huge passion for it. Music will always play such an important part of my life.

The older I got, the more I fell in love with these bands – not just for childhood nostaglia but for the music itself. Though, of course, I begrudgingly had to accept I would never see any of them live.

Until one fateful message from my brother. He told me Brian Wilson was going on a world tour, including New Zealand. Just in case you don’t know, and no worries if that’s the case, Brian Wilson was a founding member of The Beach Boys.

The tour would be celebrating Pet Sounds 50th Anniversary and the album would be performed in its entirety. It is one of my all time favourite albums, and I struggle with favourites – even just picking a top ten – so know I don’t use the word lightly.

There are not many musicians I would travel across the country to go and see, but obviously there was no way I was missing this. Tickets went on a sale the day after that message and I even set an alarm so I could secure one.

Fast forward to March 26th and I was sat in the Civic Theatre, waiting for the show to begin. As soon as the band began to sing those classic Beach Boys harmonies, the hairs on my arm stood up and I couldn’t stop smiling.

This was my childhood, this was long car journeys, dad dancing in the kitchen, happy summer days and picnic blankets. This was now: this was my record player, my walks alongside the park heading to university, my  brother passionately explaining the process behind it “listen to this bit,” and my comfort when feeling far away from home.

It made me feel so connected to my family, not only for the memories but the fact that they would be seeing this same show in a few months. All the way across this world, this performance brought us together. I could practically see them dancing to Surfing USA, as I got up in my seat to dance with the strangers around me, wanting to do the clan proud.  God Only knows what I’d do without them.

 

Leave a Reply

